LGBT equality in U.S. cities

I’ve been really into making maps lately. Today, I got an email from the Human Rights Campaign about their 2014 Municipal Equality Index, which grades U.S. cities on LGBT equality. I began to wonder about which areas of the U.S. are most friendly or unfriendly to the LGBT community, so I had to map it. I reorganized and geocoded the data to match the city names with their (approximate) geographical locations, then used CartoDB to convert the table into a visual representation of the points. An interactive version of the map is available at http://cdb.io/1v4A74w.

lgbt map

I also made a few maps of the election results for Sangamon County, Illinois, but I’ll save those for another post.

One thought on “LGBT equality in U.S. cities

Leave a Reply

