The joy of flowers (and bugs!)

Everyone who has ever held a camera has taken a photo of a flower. It’s pretty much required. The natural beauty of flowers (and the fact that they rarely move) makes them a perfect subject for photography. To me, flowers are a genuine expression of the joy and majesty of creation. So of course I have to share my flower photos…

This is the pistil of a hollyhock flower. I think it looks more like a sea anemone. Note the little balls of pollen (I think…) on the stamen (again, I think…).

_MG_4261

Hollyhocks are similar to sunflowers in that they’re tall and happy plants that attract a lot of bugs. I love bugs.

Here’s one in flight, about to visit a sunflower.

_MG_4116

On a different sunflower, I found this guy gal rooting around for pollen.

_MG_4098 cropped

The white lily is less exuberant than a sunflower, but it compensates with simple elegance. Here, you can see bits of pollen on the stigma – that tall, bulbous thing in the middle.

_MG_4263

Here’s a close-up of the pollen from the stamen. I think it looks like bits of rust.

_MG_4260

Seeing the intricacy and detail of something we deem “common” reminds me that anything can be beautiful at the right scale.

One thought on “The joy of flowers (and bugs!)

Leave a Reply

